The Height of Knowledge or The Peak of Ignorance?

Have we reached the height of knowledge or the peak of ignorance?

I am young, yet the longer I live on this planet, the more I come to realise how foolish and utterly ignorant some human beings are despite the wealth of information at our finger tips.

Please note that this blog post is generalizing and of course there are numerous exceptions.

Some of the things I see posted on social media makeme want to both  cry of despair and laugh at the stupidity. Every generation has its flaws, but I feel like the one I’m part of is a new level of ignorant. Or perhaps it’s just easier showcased nowadays with such massive emphasis on social media and the internet.

Let’s leave social media alone for a second. Have you heard some of the things that people say/do these days? Recently I’ve come across a few moments where I’ve seriously wondered what on earth is going on in some people’s heads.

People so often argue; argue about trivial matters. People so often look for drama and if they can’t find it, they make some.

Even when people argue about significant matters, they make points and arguments with little to no knowledge of what they are talking about. I’ve seen too many ignorant people argue with no substance and no truth and this really bothers me.

Now, I don’t know how to combat this issue, because people who are ignorant generally don’t want to be told otherwise and seldom take advice well. I suppose at some point these people will have to realise for themselves that ignorance is not bliss. Ignorance is damaging to you as well as people around you.

We have extensive encyclopedias of incredible facts, discoveries and knowledge. However, the way we talk, conduct ourselves and treat others cannot simply be learnt through reading a Wikipedia page. That must be taught. That starts at home and amongst peers.

So, my plan: be an example. Don’t be ignorant. Don’t be foolish. Don’t sink to those levels. Self-improvement is key.

Leave a Reply

